Burgos, Spain: You Get What you Need

IMG_0928

I stopped in Burgos for 2 nights to rest, re-group, and take some alone-time. I was tempted to join the public albergue in the centre of the city but after two very noisy nights on the camino trail, I needed some quiet time by myself. I picked out one of the private albergues recommended in Brierley’s guide-book (finally, I actually read it!) and perched myself in a quiet room near the grounds of the university.

IMG_0923

For the handsome price of €35 per night, this is what I received:

IMG_0922

It had a small private bathroom too, so I didn’t need to stand in line with 20 other people waiting for my turn in the showers – what bliss!

The room was a calm oasis after days of noise and tension. I lay on my bed (with sheets!) – and listened to the sounds of birds chirping in the ivy and flowers outside my window. It was a welcome change from the sound of washing machines and chatter.

Here, I had enough steady wi-fi to make calls home to Handsome Husband who was holding the fort without me.

Here, I slept solidly for hours on end.

Here, I was glad to take a break from walking and carrying my backpack, and give my feet a break.

I slept, I ate, I relished the quiet.

IMG_0930

Downtown, I browsed and wandered through the city, famous for its gothic cathedral. I ate alone, I sent postcards home, and contrary to what Brierley suggested, I welcomed the sights and sounds of the city. It wasn’t a shock to my system at all. Surprisingly, it was a source of revival.

In the city, I could come and go as I pleased. I could reclaim my independence. I could be anonymous for a day, while I browsed through tourist shops and city sights. Oddly enough, the city gave me a chance to rest, and I grabbed it with both hands.

And with 532km still to go, I would need all the rest I could get.

What did Burgos mean to you?

IMG_0927

 

10 thoughts on “Burgos, Spain: You Get What you Need

  1. We walked straight through from Atapuerca to Tardajos with just a short stop in Burgos for an overpriced lunch. We didn’t actually stay in any cities along the way, preferring the small villages. But we did find it an absolute slog walking into the City, having missed the turning for the river approach.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Handsome Husband was more than 100% supportive when I made two decisions at the same time:
      1. Resign from my job
      2. Go walk Camino
      His blessing made it much easier to go (though the walking itself was still pretty tough!) I think he might be a feminist! :-p

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a very different kind of experience in Burgos- for me, Burgos represented the end of the first “part” of my Camino. A good friend I made ended her walk there, and after Burgos a lot of my Camino family split up and separated. But in Burgos it felt like everyone was there: I walked through the city and continually ran into people I knew. It was such a warm and comforting and fun experience; I don’t know that I’ve ever been so comfortable in a city. (my moments of needing peace and quiet came later on my Camino).

    I continue to love reading about your experiences, they really take me back to my own walk and help me continue to reflect!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like your experience of Burgos was bittersweet. But I’m looking forward to hearing more about the next section of your own journey.
    Thanks for the kind words, Nadine. I imagine we’ll both continue to reflect for quite a while yet – there can be *so* much to process! I think it just unfurls naturally, like putting one foot in front of the other. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

