The first woman to walk the Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico to Canada – and back

PCT Logo

With all this talk of Reese Witherspoon and the movie adaptation of Cheryl Strayed’s memoir (Wild), I’m feeling kind of giddy.

I’ve hiked in California, Oregon, and Washington states and loved them all. Expansive vistas, big sky, the smell of pine trees, and the reflections on deep blue lakes…my heart flutters at the thought of it all.

Two years ago, Strayed’s memoir of walking (part of) the Pacific Crest Trail through California and Oregon stirred my heart strings. Two weeks ago, the movie adaptation stirred them again. I remember my 500-mile Camino experience with deep gratitude. I came home exhausted, but daydreamed of more long-distance walking.

My family asked: Isn’t it enough to go off wandering once? Is it out of your system now that you’ve “done it“?

No, and no.

Whether I would walk another Camino or in some other part of the world, I came home feeling strong in my heart’s desire:

I want to do this again…and again…and again! (But with physical training beforehand!)

Handsome Husband needn’t worry – life is long and I am in no rush for my next big walk. There’ll be time in the future. And I think the next few years will see a massive upsurge in people walking the PCT anyway. I’m sure the movie will have that effect, just like The Way (starring Martin Sheen) influenced the number of people walking Camino. You know my feelings on walking among crowds of people, so I’m happy to bide my time and wait until the crowds subside! 😉

But in the meantime, I’ve just read an article about Olive McGloin from Dublin, Ireland, who is the first woman to walk the Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico to Canada – and back.

I feel giddy at the thought of it!

She walked the 2,650-mile route (each way) that Strayed walked (only?!) 1,000 miles of.

I was (and am) impressed by Strayed’s mileage.

But Olive McGloin walked more than 5 times Strayed’s distance.

And she walked more than 10 times the distance that I covered when I walked Camino across Spain!

I Love It!

More details here: http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/a-walk-on-the-wild-side-meet-the-first-woman-to-yoyo-the-pacific-crest-trail-1.2071182

Leave a Reply

