A Word of Thanks…

I’m new to this blogging thing.

And even though many people told me they’d love to read about my experience of walking 500 miles across Spain, I was really reluctant to blog it.

The idea of a public exposé made me squirm a bit. Okay, it made me squirm a lot.

But 14 weeks ago, I sat at work and realised:

This time last year, I was walking up the side of the Pyrenees! On a sunny morning at 8:30am, I looked across the countryside covered in golden light. I felt delighted to be away from the desk!

As I remembered this, I suddenly felt compelled to share some of my memories and reflections from this life-changing experience. It was a unique time in my life but I won’t remember the details forever. Plus, I feel really strongly about the benefits of such a journey in our modern world. So, I started this blog, in the hope that my experience of the Camino de Santiago would provide inspiration and heart for you, too.

I haven’t advertised this very heavily (still squirming!) but in a few short weeks I’ve amassed over 2,000 views, with more than 180 views on one of last week’s posts alone. Quite frankly, I’m chuffed!

I couldn’t create such numbers all by myself so I want to say

Thank You for Reading!

Thank you for your comments, your questions, your kind words, and support. Thanks for following my blog so you receive an automatic email every time I create a new post. Thank you too for sharing the link with your friends and family. Special thanks for joining me on this journey into the written word and for making it such good fun.

I look forward to the next 14 weeks (and more) of blogging and I especially look forward to sharing my Camino memories and reflections with you. If you have particular questions or topics you’d like me to cover, please let me know and I’ll do my best to answer 🙂

In the meantime, Muchos Gracias!

12 thoughts on “A Word of Thanks…

  1. I know just how you feel Ger. I started my blog as a journal and to keep family and close friends in touch whilst I walked the Frances and Portuguese routes. Today my views number over 131,000. I am permanently amazed at the number of views and the lovely comments I receive, and it is a joy to make contact with people from all over the world. Blogging is full of delights and surprises.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a blog and abandoned it two and half years ago. but it still amazes me to see how many people are still logging on. Out of curiosity I checked my page view stats today and interestingly I had more hits this month than ever before. This is because I wrote a piece about the bike share 2 years ago and the scheme was actually launched a few weeks back so people were googling it. public interest was piqued in the story.
    your blog has a very clear focus; I think this is one of the reasons it is strong.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Ger, I started my blog in 2008 and at that time I hadn’t walked the Camino. I still find it funny the way the themes of my posts change from the vague to the Camino and this happened in the space of 2 months. The way I see it is if you enjoy writing about it, and your posts are frequent, people will come back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Woohoo! I so loved your story about the South Korean woman that I posted it on the Americans on the Camino forum on Facebook. So tickled it helped get you more traffic and hopefully more readers. Your blog is remarkable, Ger, and I’m enjoying your storytelling so much – so happy to spread the word!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

